top of page

Guruvayur Satyagraha (ഗുരുവായൂർ സത്യാഗ്രഹം)

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

  • It was a movement for the right to enter inside the Guruvayur temple.

  • People from the lower castes were banned from entering the Guruvayur temple.

  • So, a satyagraha was conducted under the auspices of Kerala Provincial Congress Committee (KPCC).

  • It was a movement for temple entry and abolition of untouchability.

Course of Events

  • In 1931 November, KPCC decided to begin Satyagraha before the famous temple at Guruvayur.

  • The Satyagraha began under the leadership of Sri. K. Kelappan. Among the Kerala leaders other than Kelappan were Mannath Padmanabhan, A.K. Gopalan and N.P. Damodaran.

  • After the movement had run its course for about ten months, Kelappan entered on a fast before the temple on September, 21, 1932. The fast electrified the atmosphere. On October 2, 1932 Kelappan broke his fast in response to Gandhiji's wishes.

  • A referendum was held among the Hindus to find out their views on the question of temple entry. More than 77 percent of the Hindus expressed themselves in favour of temple entry.

  • Though the Satyagraha did not immediately result in the opening of the Guruvayur temple to all Hindus, the movement helped to create a strong public opinion in the country in favour of temple entry and abolition of untouchability.

  • The Guruvayur temple was thrown open to Harijans only in 1946.

Some Important Facts for Exam

  • The trustee of Guruvayur Temple during the satyagraha- Samorine (സാമൂതിരി)

  • President of the satyagraha committee- Mannathu Padmanabhan

  • Secretary of the satyagraha committee- K. Kelappan

  • Leader of the volunteer march during satyagraha- T Suhbramanian Tirumunbu (ടി. സുഹ്ബ്രമണ്യൻ തിരുമുമ്പ്)

  • The volunteer march was from Payyannur to Guruvayur.



bottom of page