top of page

First Ministry in Kerala

  • The State of Kerala was formed on November 1, 1957.

  • After the first elections to the Kerala Legislative Assembly in 1957, the 'Communist Party of India' emerged as the single largest party.

  • The elections were held to the 126 seats (114 constituencies including 12 two member constituencies).

  • The Communist Party of India won 60 seats.

  • E M S Namboodiripad formed the first elected government with the support of 5 independent legislators.

  • The Ministry had eleven ministers.

    1. E. M. S. Namboodiripad -Chief Minister

    2. C. Achutha Menon -Minister for Finance

    3. T. V. Thomas -Minister for Labour and Employment and Transport

    4. K. C. George -Minister for Food and Forest

    5. K. P. Gopalan -Minister for Industries

    6. T. A. Majeed -Minister for Public Works

    7. P. K. Chathan Master -Minister for Local Self Government

    8. Joseph Mundassery -Minister for Education and Cooperation

    9. K. R. Gowri Amma -Minister for Revenue and Excise

    10. V. R. Krishna Iyer -Minister for Home Affairs, Irrigation, Prisons, Law and Electricity

    11. A. R. Menon -Minister for Health

Education bill

  • It was introduced by the Minister of Education- Joseph Mundassery.

  • Features:

    • It sought to regulate appointments and working conditions of the teachers in the government-aided schools.

    • The remuneration of the teachers were to be paid directly from the government treasury.

    • It also mandated to takeover any government-aided educational institution, if they fail to meet the conditions set by the bill.

  • Many of the government-aided institutions were under the control of various Christian congregations and a few under the Nair Service Society (NSS).

  • So the Christian organisations and NSS became opposed to the government.

Kerala Agrarian Relations Bill

  • It was introduced by the Minister of Revenue- K. R. Gowri Amma.

  • Features:

    • Ownership rights to tenant cultivators and agricultural labourers.

    • Ceiling on the individual land holdings- excess land would be redistributed to the landless.

  • Bill was opposed by the landlords, Nair Service Society, certain Christian organisations, Indian National Congress, Praja Socialist Party and Indian Union Muslim League.

  • These groups started liberation struggle (വിമോചന സമരം) against the government.

  • Following this, the government was dismissed by the President on 31 July 1959.



bottom of page